Minnesota Health Care Loan Forgiveness and Repayment Programs

The Minnesota Department of Health's Office of Rural Health and Primary Care administers loan forgiveness and repayment programs to recruit and retain health care professionals to needed areas and facilities within Minnesota.


Eligible Health Professions include:

  • Public Health Nurse
  • Dental Therapist/Advance Dental Therapist
  • Mental Health Professionals: LICSW, LMFT, LPCC, Licensed Psychologist, Psychatric Nurse Practitioner
  • Midlevel Practitioners:nurse practitioner students/graduates, certified nurse midwife students/graduates, nurse anesthetist students/graduates, advanced clinical nurse specialist students/graduates, physician assistant students/graduates
  • Pharmacist: students/residents in a pharmacy program, licensed pharmacists
  • Physician: primary care residents, licensed physicians
  • Nurse in nursing homes: licensed practical nurse/nurse students, registered nurse/nurse students
  • Faculty: students studying to become Allied Health Care instructors or nursing instructors
  • Dentist: students/residents in a dental program, licensed dentists
  • Minnesota State Loan Repayment: Primary care physician, dentist, dental hygienist, certified nurse midwife, certified midwife, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, clinical psychologist, clinical social worker, psychiatrist, licensed professional counselor, psychiatric nurse specialist, marriage and family therapist

Learn More

Visit the Minnesota Department of Health website to learn more about these programs, or contact:

Office of Rural Health and Primary Care
Phone: (651) 201-3870
Toll free: (800) 366-5424