Quick Facts

Affiliation: Catholic 
President: Dr. Julie Sullivan (2013- )
Founded: In 1885 in St. Paul, Minn., by Archbishop John Ireland
Type: Catholic comprehensive urban university
Enrollment: 10,035 total: 6,212 undergraduate (4-year) - including 183 students in the Dougherty Family College (DFC) - and 3,640 graduate students
Coeducational: Since 1977. Total 51 percent men and 49 percent women. Undergraduate enrollment: 53.6 percent men and 46.4 percent women, DFC enrollment: 38 percent men and 62 percent women, graduate enrollment: 47 percent men and 53 percent women
Students of color: 15.5 percent of undergraduates, 92 percent of DFC and 23.6 percent of the graduate student population
International students: 573 international students: 175 4-year, 2 DFC, and 397 graduate students
Tuition: $41,792 (undergraduate). Tuition for graduate and professional programs is charged on a per-credit basis and varies by program of study.
Estimated room and meals: $10,412 is average for undergraduates
Financial aid: Received by more than 90 percent of first-year students. Financial aid for graduate study also is available.
Student-faculty ratio: 14:1
Average class size: 21.9 (undergraduate), 17.5 (DFC) and 18 (graduate)
Undergraduate degrees and majors: Students may choose from more than 90 majors and 60 minors in a variety of degrees including bachelor of arts, bachelor of science, bachelor of music, bachelor of science in mechanical engineering or a bachelor of science in electrical engineering. An associate of arts degree is offered through the Dougherty Family College.
Graduate degrees: More than 60 graduate degrees in a dozen subject areas.
Academic divisions: Nine academic divisions: School of Education  (bachelor's, master's, specialist, doctorate); Graduate School of Professional Psychology (master's and doctorate); College of Arts and Sciences (bachelor's and master's); Opus College of Business (bachelor's and master's); School of Engineering (bachelor's and master's); Saint Paul Seminary School of Divinity (master's); School of Law (juris doctor); School of Social Work (bachelor's and master's); Dougherty Family College (associate of arts degree)