ACTC Exchange Policies

Full-time, degree-seeking undergraduate students at St. Thomas are eligible to register for exchange courses in the fall and spring semesters, as long as the course is not also offered at St. Thomas during the same period of enrollment. Students are limited to one exchange course each term. An exception will be granted for students majoring in Social Work, which is a joint program with St. Catherine University, and students with approval to pursue an ACTC major or minor.

Exchange courses are not transfer courses. As such, courses taken through the ACTC are considered St. Thomas courses and do not impact the senior residency requirement. The permanent records of courses for which a student has cross-registered is kept in the Office of the Registrar at the student's home institution. Note: There is no ACTC exchange during summer session. For courses during summer sessions, students register and pay tuition at the college offering the course(s) and must have a transcript of the completed work sent to St. Thomas.

In addition to the course exchange, St. Thomas students may choose a major or minor area of concentration at any of the other four ACTC institutions. The student must be accepted into the major or minor by the appropriate department chair at the school where the program is offered. The proposed program must be approved by the Committee on Studies at St. Thomas. For additional information consult the Director of Undergraduate Academic Affairs in AQU 110-G.

Visit the ACTC website to learn more about ACTC policies, procedures, majors/minors, and to connect with other valuable resources for exchange students.