Welcome to the Department of Political Science

Welcome to the Department of Political Science at the University of St. Thomas. 

As faculty, we are dedicated to political inquiry & analysis and teaching excellence.  Through our active research agendas, we are exploring some of the most compelling challenges in political life, and our research informs our teaching in critical ways.  Although we study different regions of the world with different methodological approaches, we share a commitment to providing students with a rich understanding of the discipline of political science. 

We live in time of both amazing opportunities and challenges, and our current political climate demonstrates a need for informed and civil discussions of concepts that we spend a lot of time discussing in a political science course: representation, security, democracy, justice, citizenship.

Feel free to stop by my office and learn more about a major or minor in political science. 

Dr. Angela High-Pippert
Chair of Political Science
405 JRC

G.W.C Ross Scholarship Recipients

Sabbatical Updates from Dr. Buhr:
Italian parliamentary system
Blog Post

Upcoming Events