Shenehon Center for Real Estate

Research. Education. Outreach.

The Boyd Stofer & Ken Stensby Real Estate Student Competition

This annual competition focuses on recognizing the value of competition in fostering creativity and the entrepreneurial spirit by creating original, practical, real world concepts that would apply to any discipline of real estate or a related industry. The Real Estate Competition, named in honor of Ken Stensby and Boyd Stofer, awards scholarships to students for their winning real estate related business concepts.

By submitting a description of a business concept, applicants will compete for the opportunity to present to a panel of industry professionals for scholarship awards of from $1,000 to $10,000. The competition will challenge undergraduate and graduate students to develop a business concept that has potential to become a viable, high-growth business or make a meaningful contribution to existing real estate companies.

Student submissions might include a product or procedure that would improve efficiency, a real estate operating company, a new real estate marketing concept, a residential or commercial development idea, a real estate financing concept, a way to improve the analysis of real estate investments, or an entity that supports real estate operations.

Competition Deadlines
  • Deadline:  September 13, 2017 5 p.m. Submit Application and Request ID from
  • Deadline: October 13, 2017 11:59 p.m. Submit Initial Business Concept idea to
  • October 16, 5 p.m.  Semifinalists Announced
  • October 20  9 – 11:30 a.m.  Semifinalist Presentations/Judging
  • November 3  9 – 11:30 a.m.  Final Judging and Announcement of Winners
Scholarship Awards

Awards and scholarships will be announced following the finals and at the Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame induction on Nov. 5, 2015 at Golden Valley Golf and Country Club.

First Place              $10,000
Second Place         $5,000
Third Place             $2,500
Best Presenter       $1,000

Total Prizes   $18,500

2017 Winners


1st place – Welcome Home
Kathryn Watry                    $10,000

2nd place – River Park Place: The New St. Paul
Micheal Michalski                $5,000

3rd place – 
Joe Janey                             $1,250 (ea.)
Adam Eskierka

Best Presenter – Welcome Home
Kathryn Watry                     $1,000

2016 Winners


1st place – D P Dev Pro
Andy Bollig                          $5,000 (ea.)
Jacquel Nissen

2nd place – Real I Abilty
Mackenzie Damerow         $2,500 (ea.)
David Lund

3rd place – REBL
Matt Michalski                    $2,500

Best Presenter – Real I Ability
Mackenzie Damerow        $500 (ea.)
David Lund

Stofer Stensby Logo

Contest Details and Rules

The Stofer-Stensby Real Estate Student Competition is named in honor of Ken Stensby and Boyd Stofer each a former local chapter president and national president of NAIOP (National Association of Industrial and Office Parks). They were inducted into the Minnesota Real Estate Hall of Fame at the University of St. Thomas in 2013 and 2012, respectively. Their entrepreneurial spirit, real estate entrepreneurship, and commitment to education in the field of real estate inspire current professionals and future generations of real estate professionals.