Handshakes among diverse people

Embracing our Differences as One Human Family

The task force aimed at addressing and achieving the strategic priority of Embracing our Differences will: 

I. Create goals and objectives around a campus culture that welcomes and supports all members of the St. Thomas community regardless of human differences. By creating goals and objectives around such areas as (1) Recruitment & Retention (students, faculty and staff), (2) Safety, (3) Communication/Civility, (4) Education, (5) Ability, and (6) Community Engagement, we seek to build and sustain an accessible and welcoming campus culture where all feel welcome.

II. Develop new, and appraise existing, strategies that will allow us to evaluate proposed initiatives that will welcome inclusion on campus.

Artika Tyner, Co-Chair
Interim Officer for Diversity and Inclusion, Institutional Diversity
email: ARTYNER@stthomas.edu

Robert J. Riley, Co-Chair
Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
email: RJRILEY@stthomas.edu

Patricia E. Conde-Brooks
Associate Dean of Students, Student Diversity and Inclusion Services

Mari Ann Graham
Associate Professor of Social Work

Craig Marcott, Faculty Affairs Committee (FAC) liaison
Associate Professor of Economics

Paul F. Mellick
Assistant Professor of Health and Human Performance

Kimberly J. Schumann
Director of Disability Resources

Heather M. Shirey
Associate Professor of Art History and Director of Art History Graduate Studies 

Linda Sloan
Director of Industry Relations and Career Management, MBA Career Services

Michelle Thom
Associate Vice President of Human Resources