Committee Summaries

UST Committees with representation from Non-Exempt Staff Council:

NESC Members serving on these committees will keep Council and constituents up to date on developments.

NESC Representative: Reggie Wright and Monica Anderson

The Diversity and Inclusion (formerly Affirmative Action) Committee's charge is to promote affirmative action and equal employment opportunities by bringing campus-wide perspectives and experience to the consideration of policies and procedures related to the selection, development and retention of a diverse workforce.  Mari Ann Graham is the chair of this committee, and the group has been meeting about twice a semester.  A male representative from NESC has been requested for the upcoming year.

NESC representatives:  Christine Balsley

The primary purpose of the Fringe Benefits Advisory Committee (FBAC) is to advise University Administration on all aspects of the university’s fringe benefits program. Deborah Sagstetter chairs this committee, and the group meets during the academic year, typically on the third Thursday of each month.

Representative: Andy Leet (Alternate: Carol Leegard)

To guide the selection and implementation of technologies and to serve as a clearing house for technology issues, such as software acquisition and distribution, classroom technology, and mobile computing.


NESC Representatives: Christina Larson-Dickson and Kate Salvatore

Ad hoc committee of “wellness champions” – faculty and staff who will promote best practices, facilitate communications and recommend and support the implementation of wellness activities and programs at the university.


Sub-Committees of the Non-Exempt Staff Council:

Representatives: All NESC members (Leads: Kate Salvatore and Kathy Pritchard)

This group will plan the annual Staff Appreciation Breakfast. The committee also organizes the nomination and selection process for the annual Non-Exempt Staff Appreciation Award (given at the breakfast).  All council members will help host the event.


Representatives: All NESC Members (Leads: Kate Salvatore, Kathy Pritchard, Monica Anderson, Reggie Wright)

This committee plans the UST Annual Children’s Christmas Party, held on the first or sometimes the second Saturday of December. The Christmas Party is open to children and grandchildren of all current staff and faculty members of St. Thomas. Children can look forward to games, puppet shows, holiday treats, a visit with santa, face-painters, jumpees, crafts, and more. The committee selects a charitable organization for families to bring contributions to when they come to the Party - for example, food and personal care items for a local food shelf.

Representative: Christina Larson-Dickson

In early spring semester, the committee will set up the elections process (call for nominations, verify participation and get supporting items, run the election, tally votes, and notify elected council members). Members running for re-election should abstain from joining this committee.


Representatives: Kathy Pritchard and Christine Balsley

Once a year this committee hosts a recycling event on both campuses where staff and faculty can collect their unwanted/surplus office supplies and then students, faculty and staff can take items that they need from the collection.  

Representatives: All NESC members (Leads: Kate Salvatore and Christina Larson-Dickson)

This committee plans the All Staff Forum and Chili Luncheon which is held in the Fall and is simulcast between the two campuses.  Administrators are invited to share information about the state of the university and respond to questions from the exempt and non-exempt constituents.  RSVPs to the luncheon are requested to ensure enough food is provided.

Representatives: Andy Leet and Kathy Pritchard

Responsible for posting/updating staff council website, sending out emails to constituents from NESC email account, design/deliver advertising materials, distribute and collect paper advertising/RSVP/ballot for constituents who do not work at a computer on a regular basis.

Representatives: Christine Balsley, Carol Leegard, Kathy Pritchard, Reggie Wright

This committee attends New Employee Orientation each month (3rd Wednesday) to explain the NESC and distribute welcome packages. The committee also send anniversary cards to employees.  The committee will also represent the NESC on any future mentoring programs providing by HR.