Social Work Career Resources

Students and alumni of the School of Social Work have access to the career development resources of both St. Catherine University and the University of St. Thomas.  We encourage you to make use of this unique benefit, as both offices have strong relationships with employers; excellent resources for those seeking help with resumes, cover letters, interviewing and other job skills; and their job boards tend to be used by different organizations, both of which are extremely relevant for social workers at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. 

St. Catherine University Career Development website»

University of St. Thomas Career Development website*»

*Note: UST Career Development has designated Paul Strickland as the career counselor with primary responsibility for social work.  Paul's direct contact information is:  | (651) 962-6768. He is located in the St. Thomas Career Development office in the Murray-Herrick campus center.


The School of Social Work is now posting job opportunities on our website for agencies interested in reaching our School of Social Work students and alumni directly:

School of Social Work Job Board



The Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) Program forgives the remaining balance on your Direct Loans after you have made 120 qualifying monthly payments under a qualifying repayment plan while working full-time for a qualifying employer. Social work students often work for qualified employers and may be eligible for this program.  Learn more about the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program

NASW also has resources about national loan forgiveness programs on their web site:

Minnesota’s Loan Forgiveness & Repayment Programs recruit and retain health care professionals to needed areas and facilities within Minnesota. The Minnesota Loan Forgiveness Programs are entirely funded by the state of Minnesota and administered by the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Rural Health and Primary Care. 

Licensed Clinical Social Workers fall under the classification of Rural or Urban Mental Health Professionals*: LICSW, LMFT, LPCC or Licensed Psychologist

*According to Minnesota Statute, a “rural designated area” is defined as outside the seven metro counties with the exception of Northfield, Hanover, Rockford and New Prague, excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud.

Urban Mental Health Professionals and Physicians Only: Underserved urban communities in Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, Mankato, or Moorhead designated as a mental health or primary medical care health professional shortage area (HPSA) or medically underserved area (MUA), or with medically underserved populations (MUPs).