Financial Aid & Resources

All financial aid for the MSW program is administered through the University of St. Thomas. Graduate students may receive any of the loan funds administered by the university. In order to establish eligibility for financial aid, students must complete a standard financial aid application (FAFSA), which can be found on the graduate financial aid website. The University of St. Thomas school code is 002345.  Financial aid is awarded on an annual basis. Candidates must complete new application materials for each year of study. 

The Graduate Financial Aid Office can provide additional information about the following scholarship & grant opportunities, as well as opportunities for federal or state-level loan forgiveness/repayment programs for mental health professionals:

Graduate students who demonstrate financial need as determined by the FAFSA and who bring to the school distinctive personal characteristics or who have overcome significant obstacles or hardships should apply for a diversity grant.

The University of St. Thomas is proud to continue a long tradition of supporting veterans by participating in the Yellow Ribbon Program

The Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) Program forgives the remaining balance on your Direct Loans after you have made 120 qualifying monthly payments under a qualifying repayment plan while working full-time for a qualifying employer. Social work students often work for qualified employers and may be eligible for this program.  Learn more about the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program

NASW also has resources about national loan forgiveness programs on their web site:

Primary care medical, dental and mental/behavioral health clinicians can get up to $50,000 to repay their health profession student loans in exchange for a two-year commitment to work at an approved NHSC site in a high-need, underserved area. The payment is free from Federal income tax and is made at the beginning of service so you can more quickly pay down your loans. Approved sites are located across the U.S., in both urban and rural areas.

After completing your initial service commitment, you can apply to extend your service and receive additional loan repayment assistance.

The amount you receive and length of your commitment depends on where you serve (service at sites in higher need areas yields greater loan repayments). It also depends on whether you select the full-time or half-time option.

Learn more»

Minnesota’s Loan Forgiveness & Repayment Programs recruit and retain health care professionals to needed areas and facilities within Minnesota. The Minnesota Loan Forgiveness Programs are entirely funded by the state of Minnesota and administered by the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Rural Health and Primary Care. 

Licensed Clinical Social Workers fall under the classification of Rural or Urban Mental Health Professionals*: LICSW, LMFT, LPCC or Licensed Psychologist

*According to Minnesota Statute, a “rural designated area” is defined as outside the seven metro counties with the exception of Northfield, Hanover, Rockford and New Prague, excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud.

Urban Mental Health Professionals and Physicians Only: Underserved urban communities in Minneapolis, St. Paul, Duluth, Mankato, or Moorhead designated as a mental health or primary medical care health professional shortage area (HPSA) or medically underserved area (MUA), or with medically underserved populations (MUPs).

The UST Graduate Financial Aid website also had links to outside scholarship searches that graduate students should explore for additional scholarship opportunities.  The link to recommended search sites can be found here»