University Technology Advisory Committee

The University Technology Advisory Committee (UTAC) guides the selection and implementation of technologies and servers as a clearing house for technology issues, such as software acquisition and distribution, classroom technology, and mobile computing.


  • To guide the selection, implementation, and discontinuation of technologies, such as software acquisition and distribution, classroom technology, and mobile computing.
  • To review and make recommendations on technology strategic goals, plans, and priorities.
  • To serve as the liaison between academic and administrative constituencies and to communicate committee decisions on technology directives.
  • To advise technology leadership on allocation of budget.


  • Six full-time faculty members
  • One eligible adjunct faculty member, if appointed by the Adjunct Faculty Council
  • All academic deans or their designees
  • Two students appointed through Student Affairs
  • One representative from the Exempt Staff Council
  • One representative from the Non-Exempt Staff Council
  • Six administrators from appropriate areas of the university

2017 - 2018 Members

                       Patrick Sanchez – Co-Chair
                      Dr. Chih Lai – Co-Chair


Chih Lai – School of Engineering
Joshua Layfield – College of Arts & Sciences
Debasish Mallick – Opus College of Business
Mathew Lu – College of Arts & Sciences
Susana Perez Castillejo – College of Arts & Sciences
Robin Whitebird – School of Social Work

Adjunct Faculty

Lynn Olsen - Opus College of Business

Academic Deans

Candace Chou– College of Education, Leadership & Counseling
Catherine Marrs Fuchsel – School of Social Work


Ed Clark - Information Technology Services


Vern Klobassa – Student Affairs
Melissa Pelland - Business Affairs
Kristine Baker – Institutional Effectiveness
Dan Gjelten – Libraries
Patrick Sanchez –Development and Alumni Relations

Contact: Ellen Haeg – Information Technology Services