The Murray Medallion

The Murray Institute celebrated its 16th anniversary of service to Catholic educators and presented its Archbishop John Gregory Murray Medallion award at a Mass officiated by Archbishop John C. Nienstedt and dinner on Monday, November 24, 2008 at the University of St. Thomas.

The Medallion, given for outstanding leadership in Catholic education and service to the Murray Institute, was presented to Archbishop Emeritus, Harry J. Flynn.

The award was instituted in 2001 to honor “extraordinary service to the Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis in its mission to form committed Catholic educators within its schools and parishes through the Murray Institute.” (Medallion plaque) Previous recipients are: Mr. Tom McCarver, Archbishop John Roach, Msgr.Terrence Murphy, Dr. Mary Katherine Hamilton, Dr. Karen Ristau, a former St. Thomas faculty member who is now president of the National Catholic Educational Association in Washington, D.C., Rev. Dennis Dease, president of St. Thomas and Dr. Margaret Reif, associate professor of education at St. Thomas and former director of the Murray Institute.