ACSC Program Renewed as Center of Actuarial Excellence

July 8, 2016

The University of St. Thomas has been renewed as a Center of Actuarial Excellence for another five years!

The Society of Actuaries awards the Center of Actuarial Excellence to universities to acknowledge outstanding programs. In order to qualify for the designation, school programs must meet the eight rigorous criteria and specific CAE requirements. These criteria involve the degree, curriculum, graduate count, faculty composition, graduate quality, appropriate integration, and connection to industry and research/scholarships.

Schools maintain the CAE designation for a five-year period, subject to their conformity to the CAE criteria. There are only thirty universities worldwide that are designated as CAE schools: 17 in the United States, 8 in Canada, 3 in Australia, and 2 in Hong Kong.

The Centers of Actuarial Excellence (CAE) program allows universities and colleges with outstanding actuarial programs the opportunity to be recognized for that achievement and to compete for grants and for education and research.

For more information about the Center of Actuarial Excellence or the Society of Actuaries, see their website: