Tommy Grodzicki

1) Where are you from? 

I am from Evanston, Illinois, a suburb just north of Chicago.

2) Where did you go to college/grad school? What did you study?

I attended Carleton College and majored in Math with a focus in Statistics. 

3) What are some experiences that have led you to become a math placement tutor?

Upon graduating from Carleton, I moved to Milwaukee, WI. I served two year-long terms of service through Americorps with a program called College Possible. The program is designed to provide necessary resources to low-income, first-generation high school students on anything related to college access and success. I mentored 41 high school students through junior and senior year with a focus on becoming the first in their family to go to college. This experience led me to this position because I see it as a natural way to continue working in college success. I am happy to help provide services that I hope my former students are receiving at their respective colleges.

4) What are some things you enjoy doing in your free time? 

I love to stay active by rock climbing or running frequently throughout the week (I hate gyms!). When I am not trying to brave the winter outdoors, you can almost certainly find me indoors playing any sort of strategy game with friends, especially card games. 

5) What is your favorite part of helping people understand math? 

Helping them see it as a puzzle! I find that one's self-perceived ability in math has an almost causal effect on how much enjoyment they get from it. The goal is always to enjoy whatever it is you're learning.