Biology Department Scholarships




Paul J. Germann, Ph.D. Scholarship

Paul J. Germann, Ph.D. was a long-time faculty member and chair of the Biology department at the University of St. Thomas whose areas of interest were botany and genetics. This scholarship was created in his honor, and is awarded annually to sophomore or junior Biology majors with outstanding participation in biology and excellence in academics. The annual award ranges between $1,000 and $6,000 depending on the number of scholarship awardees (1 to 6 awards given per year).  The award will be applied toward tuition.

Paul J. Germann Scholarship Awardees
2019 Greta Gerdes and Kara Reardon
2018 Rachael Heier and Mariah Herhaar
2017 Claire Herzog, Alexander Hornung, Kayla Orbeck and Jennifer Walz


Healthcare Fund Scholarship

This is a scholarship for a student or students interested in health care. The recipient(s) must be an undergraduate junior or senior, with a declared major in a program offered by the Department of Biology, and a minimum 3.1 GPA. The student(s) must demonstrate financial need, and must be from an economic and/or socially disadvantaged background. The recipient(s) must be of the Catholic faith and demonstrate a commitment to community service, Church, and the mission of the University of St. Thomas. 

Healthcare Fund Scholarship Awardees
2019 Mary Carlson and Maya Verdeja
2018 Spencer Wilhm


Meierotto-Blackburn Scholarship

This scholarship may be need or merit based.  The recipient shall be an undergraduate Biology major in the area of Ecology, with a focus in Field Biology. 

Meierotto-Blackburn Scholarship Awardees
2019 Noelle Laske and Mary Thelen


James M. Jagodzinski Scholarship

James Jagodzinski ('53) graduated with a Biology major from the University of St. Thomas and started a successful scientific instrument business.  He created this scholarship fund for students pursuing a Biology major with post-graduate aspirations for a career in the life sciences.  

James M. Jagodzinski Scholarship Awardees
2018 Emily Stearns
2017 Zachary Mader