McNeely Hall's exterior

Study the four disciplines of Social Sciences: economics, history, political science, and sociology and criminal justice.

What are the social sciences?

The major in the social sciences is intended for the liberal arts student who wishes to become familiar with the perspective of the four disciplines traditionally defined as the social sciences – economics, history, political science, and sociology & criminal justice – and who wishes at the same time to study more intensively one of those disciplines. In requiring both introductory and advanced courses in each of the disciplines, irrespective of the area of concentration, the major provides both opportunity and challenge for the student seriously interested in understanding the order, structure and interrelationships involved in human behavior.



Political Science

Sociology and Criminal Justice

Contact Information
  • Share this