NESC Elections | Call for Nominations

Non-exempt (hourly) employees are invited to nominate themselves or colleagues as candidates in the upcoming Non-Exempt Staff Council election.


Nominations Due: February 17 | Voting Period: March 10-21


Please see timeline below for details on nomination and voting process


Non-exempt (hourly) employees are invited to nominate themselves or colleagues as candidates in the 2014 Non-Exempt Staff Council election. We are looking for energetic individuals from a variety of departments and service areas who are interested in advancing NESC’s mission: "To build a strong and healthy workplace by fostering communication with the University’s administration, advocating for common interests, focusing on cooperation, and building community within the University."

Since the NESC serves and advocates for all hourly employees, we encourage people from all departments and campus locations to consider running for election.

NESC members serve two-year terms and generally devote two to five hours per month to Council duties, which include attending monthly meetings, serving on university committees, coordinating social events for non-exempt staff, working on Council management projects, representing the Council at UST events, and organizing the annual Non-exempt Staff Appreciation Breakfast.

Council members provide an important service to the University, so NESC activities will be considered part of an employee’s duties and supervisors will approve NESC-related absences. Those who serve have the opportunity to learn more about UST while meeting colleagues from throughout the campus community.

Timeline for the 2014 Election: 

  • February 5:        Call for nominations
  • February 17:      Deadline for submitting nominations
  • February 18-21: Nominees contacted to confirm interest in running
  • February 28:      Bios and photos from confirmed nominees are due to the NESC
  • March10:            Voting begins
  • March 21:           Voting ends
  • April 9:                New NESC members will be announced at the Non-Exempt Staff Appreciation Breakfast


For more information, please contact NESC Chair Lisa Keiser ( or NESC Vice-Chair Julie Kimlinger ( 


Election 2014