The University of St. Thomas


Graduate Program – Licensure

Effective in July 1987, the Minnesota legislature passed legislation that provides for licensure of social workers at four levels. The licensing statute in Minnesota is both a title and practice act. The four levels of licensure are Licensed Social Worker (LSW), Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW), Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW), and Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW). For specific information regarding social work licensure, contact the Minnesota Board of Social Work, 2829 University Ave. S.E., #340, Minneapolis, MN 55414, (612) 617-2100.