Brown Bag Lunch: Irish Poet

Join the Center for a free, bring-your-own-brown bag lunch event with the Winner of the O'Shaughnessy Poetry Award for 2014, Ms. Catherine-Phil MacCarthy.

Event Information:  Tuesday, April 8, 2014, 11:45 a.m. - 12:45 p.m., O'Shaughnessy Educational Center Auditorium, UST St. Paul Campus

Link to campus mapSt. Paul Campus Map

Event Details:  Ms. MacCarthy will talk about her writing process and share some of her poems.  Registration is not required for this free event.  Seating begins at 11:40 a.m., following the completion of the morning lecture series session.

About the Poet:  Catherine-Phil MacCarthy was born in Co. Limerick in 1954 and studied at University College Cork, Trinity College Dublin, and Central School of Speech and Dram, London.  She taught at Waterford Institute of Technology (WIT) and at The Drama Centre, University College Dublin, before turning full-time to writing in 1999.  Joint winner of the Poetry Ireland/Co-Operation North Sense of Place competition in 1991 with Susan Connolly, a selection of her work was published under the title How High the Moon.  She won the National Women's POetry Competition in 1990, was a prizewinner in the 1992 Patrick Kavanaugh Awards, and shortlisted for the Austin Clarke Prize in 1996.  The Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealion awarded her bursaries for poetry in 1994, 1998, 2007/8, and 2013.  She won The Fish International Poetry Prize in 2010, and recently completed an artist's residency at Centre Cultural Irlandais in Paris during Spring 2013.  She is a former editor of Poetry Ireland Review (Nos. 57-60).  She has worked as Writer in Residence for the City of Dublin (1994), and at the Department of Anglo-Irish Literature, University College, Dublin (2002).  She has also worked as guest writer at Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology, and leads workshops in Poetry at the Irish Writers Centre.  She has been funded by the Artsflight scheme and Culture Ireland for readings at Ireland House in New York University, Boston College, Villanova University, the University of Massachusetts in Boston, and at many Irish Studies Centres, Art Centres and festivals including The London Book Fair.  She has published This Hour of the Tide (Salmon, 1994); the blue globe (1998), One Room an Everywhere, a novel (2003), Suntrap (2007), with Blackstaff Press and The Invisible Threshold (2012) with Dedalus Press, shortlisted for The Irish Times Poetry Now Award.

About the O'Shaughnessy Poetry Award:  The $5,000 O’Shaughnessy Award for Poetry, established in 1997, honors Irish poets.  The award is named for Lawrence O’Shaughnessy, who taught English at St. Thomas from 1948 to 1950, formerly served on the university’s Board of Trustees and recently has retired as head of the I.A. O’Shaughnessy Foundation.  It is presented by the University of St. Thomas Center for Irish Studies.  Previous winners of the O’Shaughnessy Award are Eavan Boland, John F. Deane, Peter Sirr,  Louis de Paor,  Moya Cannon, Frank Orsmby, Thomas McCarthy, Michael Coady, Kerry Hardie, Dennis O’Driscoll,  Seán Lysaght, Pat Boran, Mary O’Malley, Theo Dorgan, Leanne O’Sullivan, and Gerard Smyth.