Students named to sociology and criminal justice honor society

Six sociology and criminal justice majors and minors were welcomed into the international sociology honor society, Alpha Kappa Delta (AKD), this spring. Michael Anderson, Anna Clark, Anthony Denny, Katherine Ettel, Aaron Johanneck, Katherine Priester and Andrew Thompson were initiated at a reception on April 27.

Requirements for membership include a major or minor in sociology or criminal justice, completion of at least four courses in sociology at the University of St. Thomas, and rank in the top 30th percentile of all students by grade-point average.

Also honored at the initiation reception were the recipients of department awards and scholarships.

Here are the award winners:

  • Anderson received the James G. Ahler Award. This award honors an outstanding student in Sociology Research Methods and Statistics.
  • Kelleigh Tegels Nelson received the Sociologists for Women in Society Award. This award is presented to a promising student in sociology with an interest in the sociology of gender.
  • Jessica Nelson and Brian Reider were awarded the John C. Gessner Scholarship. This scholarship is named in honor of the late Dr. John C. Gessner, a sociology professor at the University of St. Thomas.

The keynote speaker was Jennifer Blank ’02 and Middlesex University ’04 M.A.  The title of Blank’s address was “The Global Phenomenon of Sex Trafficking.”


Print Friendly