By Dr. Judith Dwyer, executive vice president

I am pleased to announce that the "Strategic Planning" Web site is available to you (see the link below). The purpose of this site is to give you an opportunity to identify the areas about which strategic directions need to be set.

As the strategic planning process gets underway at the University of St. Thomas, an important first step is the identification of key issues on which we need to focus. Our mission statement and the document "Guiding Principles for Strategic Planning" (available on the Web site) give a description of who we presently are. What is further needed to guide our planning efforts is a definition of who we want to be and where we want to go — in other words, what is our vision for the future?

At the request of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee1, and with the agreement of the President’s Staff2, the Executive Vice President’s Cabinet3 has identified a number of possibilities. Three Strategic Planning Town Meetings have now been held. At each of these meetings, many areas also were identified as possible topics for strategic direction. There may well be other issues that need to be included. Whatever the case, I would appreciate your feedback through the Strategic Planning Feedback Form.

All this feedback — from the Town Meetings and the Feedback Form — will be used to determine the areas that are deemed most critical. Then, study groups, that will be very representative of the community, will be formed to gather and analyze data needed to make a sound decision. By the end of the spring semester the information will come to the EVP Cabinet for further review.

It is my hope that these strategic directions will be very broad statements of our vision for the future and will assist the planning efforts each unit then will be asked to undertake. These directions are not the strategic plan itself.

Clicking on this link — — will take you to the Web site where you can view and comment on these issues. You will need to log in with your UST username and password. This electronic process will close after Friday, Dec. 10.

Thank you for taking the time to participate in this important first step of strategic planning. I am very much looking forward to hearing your thoughts and suggestions.


1. Members of the Strategic Planning Steering Committee are: Judith Dwyer, chair; Miriam Williams, vice-chair; Jerry Anderley; Ron Bennett; Linda Halverson; John Kemper; Nancy McGrath, secretary; Jon Merchant; Peter Parilla; Kris Ragozzino; Alan Sickbert; Colleen Striegel and Nancy Zingale.

2. Members of the President’s Staff are: the Rev. Dennis Dease, James Daniel, Judith Dwyer, Doug Hennes, Quent Hietpas, Ralph Pearson, the Rev. Phillip Rask, Greg Roberts, Michael Sullivan and Nancy Zingale.

3. Members of the Executive Vice President’s Cabinet are: Judith Dwyer, James Daniel, Marla Friederichs, Jean Haley, Doug Hennes, Ralph Pearson, Kris Ragozzino, Greg Roberts, Michael Sullivan, Nancy Zingale and Nancy McGrath, secretary.