UAWE Spring Reception

The St. Thomas community is invited to celebrate the annual spring reception of the University Advocates for Women and Equity on Tuesday, April 23.


Tuesday, April 23, 2013
3:30 PM - 4:30 PM


McNeely Hall Great Room (room 100)

St. Paul Campus


Free and Open to the St. Thomas community. Family and friends of the award recipients are also welcome.

Three students and one staff member have been named recipients of three awards presented annually by the University Advocates for Women and Equity.

The recipients are students Olga Ivanova, Emilee Sirek and G Lee Xiong, and Susan Anderson-Benson, program manager of The Selim Center for Learning in Later Years.

Xiong and Ivanova won awards that were created to honor women on campus, or to honor scholarship or creative work on concerns related to women. Xiong won the Pauline Lambert Advocacy Award, for taking initiative in challenging problems that exist around gender issues. Ivanova won the Sapientia Award, for outstanding work with a focus on a woman or on a concern related to women.

Anderson-Benson and Sirek won Sister Pat Kowalski Women’s Leadership Awards. The award is presented annually to a female employee of the university, rotating among different constituencies (faculty, exempt staff, nonexempt staff), and to a female student.

Previous recipients of the award are:

  • Pauline Lambert, 2000
  • Amanda Rios, 2001
  • Ann Johnson, 2002
  • Elizabeth Dussol, 2003
  • Nicole Gurgel, 2004
  • Kay Egan, 2005
  • JoAnn Andregg, 2006
  • Alethea Alden and Laura Stierman, 2007
  • Jill Manske, 2008
  • Mary Ann Ryan, 2009
  • Lauren Miller and Kelly Rodriguez, 2010
  • Debra Petersen, 2011
  • Pat Alexander and Christina Weiberg, 2012


Kowalski died in May 1999. The award is dedicated in memory of her spirit and work. She was director of community partnerships at St. Thomas for seven years. She initiated and facilitated programs and contacts with the broader community. She was a member of the University Committee on Women and was interested in issues concerning women and equality.

For more information email Dr. Susan Myers (

UAWE logo