Aug 29

School of Law selects four finalist candidates for next dean

Published on: Wednesday, August 29, 2012

The dean search committee at the University of St. Thomas School of Law (Minnesota) is pleased to announce four distinguished finalist candidates for the law school's deanship:

  • Patrick J. Borchers, Vice President for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law, Creighton University (former Dean, Creighton Law School)
  • Robert K. Vischer, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law, University of St. Thomas School of Law (Minnesota)
  • Ruth Okediji, William L. Prosser Professor of Law, University of Minnesota (director and founder, Intellectual Property and Development Program)
  • David S. Caudill, Arthur M. Goldberg Family Chair and Professor of Law, Villanova University School of Law  (UPDATED 9/10/2012: David Caudill has withdrawn from consideration for family medical reasons.)

The four candidates demonstrate a depth of academic and administrative leadership.

Patrick J. Borchers is Vice President for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law at Creighton University.  He served eight years as Dean of the Creighton University School of Law, after earlier terms as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Associate Dean for Student Affairs while a professor at Albany Law School. His tenure as dean saw significant increases in fund-raising, including for endowed professorships, student scholarships, and a clinic. He is an expert on conflict of laws, serving as a co-author for both the leading treatise and the leading textbook in the field, and writing a host of book chapters and articles.

Robert K. Vischer is Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law at the University of St. Thomas. He has been a professor of law at St. John’s University, a fellow at St. John’s Vincentian Center for Church and Society, and Visiting Research Scholar at Blackfriars Hall, Oxford University. He has served on the Executive Committee of the Association of Religiously Affiliated Law Schools and in leadership roles for two AALS sections.  He has been recognized multiple times for his excellent teaching, and his writing – focused on conscience, religious liberty, and the public sphere – includes two books, more than two dozen articles, and regular commentary in popular publications and blogs.

Ruth L. Okediji is the William L. Prosser Professor of Law at the University of Minnesota, where she is Director and Founder of the Intellectual Property and Development Program. She was previously the Edith Gaylord Harper Presidential Professor at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. She has served in leadership roles on a number of important university and professional committees, including as co-chair of the University of Minnesota Task Force on the Global University, chair of the Oklahoma Faculty Senate, and an Executive Committee member for National Order of the Coif. She is a leading authority on international intellectual property law, having written five books and dozens of articles and chapters, and consulted, spoken, and or served on task forces on five different continents.

David S. Caudill is the Arthur M. Goldberg Family Chair and Professor of Law at Villanova University School of Law and a senior fellow at the University of Melbourne Law Faculty. He was a professor for 16 years at Washington and Lee Law School, where he played a leading role in alumni programs and events and served six years as coordinator of the integrated legal research and writing program. He holds a Ph.D. from the Free University of Amsterdam, has engaged in postdoctoral work at three other institutions, and has served continuously for 13 years in leadership roles in sections of the AALS. His scholarship focuses especially on law and science and law and literature and has resulted in six books and numerous articles.

Candidates will interview at the St. Thomas campus in September 2012.  The university is selecting a new dean to replace Thomas Mengler, who stepped down earlier this year after 10 years to become president of St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas.


« Back to News Index