Apr 08

2011 Mission Awards Honor Excellence in the School of Law

Published on: Friday, April 8, 2011

On Thursday, April 7th, 2011, the University of St. Thomas School of Law held the annual Mission Awards luncheon, where members of the community were recognized for their contributions to furthering the mission of the law school.

The Mission Awards recognize excellence in the areas that give voice to the vision for the law school: professional preparation, scholarly engagement and societal reform, and service and community.  Awards are given to faculty, staff, students and alumni.

In his opening remarks, Dean Thomas Mengler touched on what makes the Mission Awards so important to the law school and to the broader Twin Cities community.  “What I most admire about our Mission Awards is that they celebrate the many different ways in which we can contribute – through teaching excellence, excellence in mentoring, excellence in scholarship, dedication to service and leadership in our community, and to the advancement of social justice broadly defined,” he said.

Mengler added, “Each year, I become more and more convinced that we are doing something profoundly important here – building a community in which everyone is challenged on a weekly, if not daily, basis to reflect on the importance of living purposeful lives, professionally as well as personally, and then of course to get on with it.“

The following members of the law school community received Mission Awards:

Excellence in Professional Preparation:
Sarah Broughton, Student
Debby Hackerson, Associate Director of Faculty and Public Services, Law Library

Excellence in Scholarly Engagement and Societal Reform:
Brotherhood Inc. team:  William Baker, Michael Biver, Alexandra Campion, Sarah Gillaspey, Abigail Hahn, Roscoe Heaton, Athena Hollins, Jason Luna and Brian Walsh
Lily Monfort, Student
Mark Osler, Professor
Jennifer Wright, Professor

Service and Community:
Stephen Astrup and Jacob Saufley, Students
Susan McGuigan, Acting Director of Career and Professional Development
Virgil Wiebe, Professor

Dean’s Award for Teaching:
Neil Hamilton, Professor
Al Coleman, Adjunct Professor
Scott Swanson, Adjunct Professor

Dean’s Award for Scholarship:
Michael Paulsen, Professor
Joel Nichols, Professor

Alumni Living the Mission Award:
Brekke, Clyborne & Ribich, L.L.C.

Student Living the Mission Awards:
Roger Maldonado, First Year
Celestial Roman, Second Year
Luke Rezac, Third Year

« Back to News Index