Interprofessional Center

for Counseling & Legal Services

IPC Recognized for Achievements Spring 2010


The IPC thanks all the faculty, staff and students that have been recognized in numerous ways this spring. Below are a brief listing of these awards and recognitions.

The IPC receives the President’s Civic Engagement Steward Award

Each member school of Campus Compact (ACT schools) is able to name one faculty member, administrator, staff member, or group that has significantly advanced their campus’ distinctive civic mission by forming strong partnerships, supporting others’ civic engagement, and working to institutionalize a culture and practice of engagement. UST has chosen the IPC to be recognized at the Campus Compact’s Annual Summit Luncheon June 17, 2010, as one of the recipients of the President’s Civic Engagement Steward Award.

Virgil Wiebe wins the UST Global Citizenship Award 2009-2010

Virgil Wiebe, co-director of the IPC, wins the University of St. Thomas Global Citizenship Award 2009-2010 for all his great work stretching from the UST campus to around the world! The award honors a member(s) of the St. Thomas community whose personal or professional work brings the concept of global citizenship to their department, classroom, residence hall or student club. Highlighted in Virgil's nomination is his work with asylum seekers at the IPC, his international treaty work on cluster munitions, championing the cause of victims of cluster and unexploded bombs, teaching in Rome, and work on policy at UST allowing students who may be undocumented to attend school. He was recognized at a dinner sponsored by the University of St. Thomas International Education Center on April 24, 2010.

The 2010 University of St. Thomas Law School Mission Awards celebrate the following IPC students and faculty award winners.

Mission Award Winners

Living the Mission

2Ls Tim Flynn
3Ls Trusha Patel

Service & Community

Katrina Viegas
Caitlin Tangen

Scholarly Engagement and Societal Reform

The Gang Database Team: Frank Aba-Onu, Joanna Salmen, Hugo Chan, Matthew Stewar

Dean’s Award Teaching

Artika Tyner

Congratulations to you all!

«Back To News