Employee Returned Check Policy

Employee Returned/Dishonored Check Policy

Returned/dishonored checks are taken seriously at the University. According to Minnesota Statutes 609.535 and 604.113 writing a returned or dishonored check is a misdemeanor. Therefore, the University will address returned/dishonored checks in accordance with the following procedures:

  • A $30.00 charge will be added for each returned/dishonored check
  • Returned/dishonored check(s) to be replaced within 30 days of date on returned check letter via payroll deduction, cash, or money order
  • If returned/dishonored check not replaced within 30 days of the date on returned check letter; the balance will be turned over to a third-party collection agency and reported to a credit bureau
  • Refer to Minnesota Statutes 609.535 Issuance of Dishonored Checks and Minnesota statutes 604.113 Worthless Check Collections; excerpts of which address acts constituting a misdemeanor

One Returned/dishonored check:

  • A letter will be sent to the employee notifying them of the returned/dishonored check

Two or more returned /dishonored checks:

  • A letter will be sent to the employee notifying them of the returned/dishonored check. A copy of the letter will also be sent to:
      • Public Safety
      • Human Resources to be included in the employee's personnel file
  • Policy violations will be addressed in accordance with the University's Discipline and Corrective Action policy