Current Participants

The Aristotle Fund is composed of select Opus College of Business UST MBA candidates, and is made possible through the continued support of both faculty members at the University of St. Thomas and a number of professionals working in the financial analysis field.

2013-14 Participating Students

Anthony Anderson, Financials
Kevin Egan, Materials
James Gentz, Technology 
Joshua Grimm, Energy
Jeff Hawkes, Industrials
Jaime Johnson, Consumer Discretionary
Adam Lawrence, Consumer Discretionary
Joseph Lepinski, Industrials
Ryan Nelson, Consumer Staples
Brian Strauss, Health Care

Faculty Advisors

Dr. Mary Daugherty manages the fund and oversees most processes, including weekly meetings and student advisory.  Mary Daugherty, Carol Peterfeso and Christopher Puto serve as the Aristotle Fund Board of Advisors.

Christopher Puto, Ph.D.
Dean, Opus College of Business
University of St. Thomas
Carol Peterfeso
Treasury Office
University of St. Thomas
Mary Daugherty, CFA, Ph.D. 
Associate Professor, Finance
University of St. Thomas


The Aristotle Fund is indebted to the support of a number of industry professionals who donate their time and expertise to individual students and the Fund as a whole.

  • Doug Eiden, CFA; portfolio manager, Lowry Hill
  • Troy Huff; vice president, senior research analyst, Nuveen Asset Management
  • Glenn E. Johnson, CFA; Mairs and Power, Inc.
  • Curt D. McLeod, CFA; Arbor Capital Management, LLC
  • Rob Nicoski, CFA, CPA; Disciplined Growth Investors
  • Roger W. Norberg; director of research, Wells Capital Management
  • Paul Pender, CFA; Speece Thorson Capital Group, Inc.
  • Paul Pugsley, CFA; RBC
  • Bret Rekas; chief investment officer, Somerset Asset Management
  • Richard J. Rinkoff, CFA; Craig-Hallum
  • John Schweers; Finance Department, Opus College of Business
  • Robert Tish
  • Rick J. Vitale, CFA; executive vice president, AEI Fund Management
  • Mark A. Vitelli, CFA; senior portfolio manager, Compass Capital Management